BayPort Foundation Celebrates Awarding $100,000 in Tuition to 2022 Scholarship Recipients

BayPort’s scholarship program is open to students of all ages, including credit union dependents, high school students, college students, and working adults attending college, university, trade, or vocational school. This year, the Foundation awarded scholarships to a total of 36 students from 23 schools.

The Foundation is partnering with WAVY TV-10 and FOX 43 TV to honor its 2022 scholarship recipients as part of the BayPort Foundation Scholarship Salute Recognition Program. The Scholarship Salute is broadcast daily between June 27 and July 24† For more information and to view the entire Voluntary Scholarship Salute Series, visit BayPort’s Youtube Channel

The recipients of the BayPort Foundation 2022 Scholarships are as follows:

Beard-Bennett Memorial Scholarship
Amanda GrimsleyFirst colonial high school
Ellie RossNew Kent High School
Hannah SmithSmithfield High School
Kyle CrosbyWarwick High School
Maya JoynerWoodside High School
Rebecca MillerChristopher Newport University

Burton P. Hill Scholarship
Brian TafazolicUniversity of Virginia

Board grant
Anthony Nelson Jr.Louisiana State University
Colten ReeceJames Madison University
Keymari Reese, Old Dominion University
Crystal McRaeECPI University
Mason PontoonThomas Nelson Community College
Nichole GilliamECPI University
Quinton McWilliamsOld Dominion University

Donald I. Steppe commemorative scholarship
Maggie SmithJames Madison University

George R. Dudley, Jr. Scholarship
Allison FalesSmithfield High School

McGee Family Scholarship
Cherami EarlsThomas Nelson Community College

Student-Run Credit Union Member Scholarship
Amanda AmbuterDenbigh High School
Dakota BrownWoodside High School
Ellen JonesYork High School
Sarai BrownHigh School Heritage
Trenton ConklinKecoughtan High School
Xavier GardnerKing’s Fork High School

Student-Run Credit Union Teller Scholarship
Ariyahna cheeks, King’s Fork High School
Diego Vega NazarioCatholic High School on the Peninsula
Mary Ann HarrisTop Christian Academy
Skylar hoodHigh School Heritage
Sydney HarrisKecoughtan High School

Tuition Booster Scholarship
Ekaterina SheltonRegent University
Frances TillmanUniversity of Saint Leo
Miriam GourdineOld Dominion University
Rusbel GarciaTidewater Community College
Shaunte LaffertyTidewater Community College
Sherrell PorterStrayer University

Wiatt Memorial Apprentice School Scholarship
John VasquezOld Dominion University
Tyler SuttonOld Dominion University

About BayPort Foundation
BayPort Foundation is the charitable arm of BayPort Credit Union and was established to extend the credit union’s philosophy of “people helping people”. The BayPort Foundation’s mission is focused on four philanthropic endeavors: scholarships, financial literacy education, advancing family health and well-being, and hardship and relief in communities where BayPort members live and work. For more information, visit

About BayPort Credit Union
In 1928, nine shipyard workers from Newport News Shipbuilding formed an organization with a specific purpose as a low-interest source of loans and a trusted place to deposit money. Today, BayPort Credit Union has been rated as a Superior 5-Star Credit Union by Bauer Financial, managing $2.2 billion in assets and serving nearly 148,000 individuals and businesses with 27 offices across the Virginia Peninsula and south side communities. Visit us at

SOURCE BayPort Credit Union

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *